This Hurts My Heart As a Black, Christian, and American

Wednesday night and early Thursday morning was tough on me in regards to Trump winning the election. I knew I didn’t like the outcome but I didn’t think it effected me that much until I was driving home. Although I was listening to NPR I was numb. We made it home and all I did was eat dinner and crashed early. I woke around 3am and logged onto Facebook and reading some post by some people saying that Trump “flirted” or made “some” racist remarks was an understatement. Either some didn’t understand or just don’t give a damn in what this man/child has unleashed.       

Now I’m not going to say the election was “ridged”, Hillary’s network (yep I voted for her) got outplayed a second time. Trump “secret voters” was Rural America. Many of us thought most Americans were disgusted with his racist, xenophobic, misogynistic rants but we were wrong. To many in Rural America the election must have seen to them it was the “End of Days” in their eyes. Plus Rural and Working-Class Americans felt they have been forgotten. (This has always troubled me, “Working-Class Americans”. People will never admit it but that phrase means “White America”). Many from other races are “Working-Class Americans” too.
But the main reason for Hillary’s loss was many Blacks and the Young Americans didn’t vote. Some of my peers felt it wouldn’t make a difference or they felt she as a White person only courted our support only election day. Heck some felt let down by Obama. When you hear this rhetoric from some Black entertainers that’s not a good thing. I remember the interview of Puff Daddy on Rev. Al Sharpton MSNBC show that “Obama short changed Black People” [ https://youtu.be/gN6ovxW9em4 %5D (Note to My People: President Obama was PRESIDENT not a DICTATOR. You had the House and Senate that set out from day one to make sure many of his laws would not pass). The young voters felt their voices was snuffed out when Bernie Sanders didn’t make the cut. They felt they were talked “at” instead of talked “to” in regards to their feelings and thoughts on this election.
 Maybe we as the older generation should have explained to them the era of Ronald Regan because that was not a great time for minorities and women. Many White Americans thought he was one of “Greatest Presidents of All Time”. I remember inner-city programs being cut, I remember many jobs lost to African-Americans under his presidency and many young voters were still too young to remember the hardship many felt under George W. Bush era. Maybe this may have helped some but for Blacks and other minorities who didn’t vote “just because” this falls on you. Numbers don’t lie. Google “Election Results” and view your state in regards to which counties voted Democratic and Republican. ( https://g.co/kgs/bBaZ8x )
I was feeling low and I will admit a little afraid as a African-American man. White Americans may feel this is outrageous but then again…you’re not Black. The individual that will be our 45th President as of January 20, 2017 believes in “Law and Order” which does not fair well for People of Color. I told my wife I wasn’t going to work…I was feeling that bad. I apologized to my Queen but as I walked out our bedroom some events made me changed my mind that also happened in the wee hours in the morning…
 1.    Me conversing with a dear friend (who I consider a little brother) was chatting via Facebook Messenger lifted my spirits. We talked about his ideas he’s working on, the outcome of the election and other events happening in the world.
2.    A great segment from Seth Myers was on point. His writing staff is amazing and the way he delivers lines is funny and yet makes you think. You can tell he was hurt too (especially when speaking of his mother believing this would be the year she would see a woman president). It was moving (please check it out. >> https://youtu.be/bEskg0Z-NAQ)
3.    I’ve been blessed with an amazing woman that has been by side for over 16 years so I sure in the hell wasn’t going to let her down.
4.    I had an online training to conduct with an new employee out of Atlanta…that wouldn’t be fair to her because I felt the election didn’t go my way.
5.    I believe this is the year and going forward a time for me to voice my opinion loud and proud and I wouldn’t have felt right not working and knowing I want to speak my mind via blogging and other social media outlets throughout the day. Yeah, that would have been ratchet.
I hopped in the shower and got revived and we headed to work and I’m glad I made it out my funk; but I will end with this…
 This hurts me as an African-American because once again we spoke more with our emotions than our actions:
It was NO excuse that the vote turn out from our people was low. The things we have gone through, especially these past years alone and this is not counting from centuries and decades past. From murder of Trayvon Martin, Mike Brown and so many others lives taken because of injustice. From the nine church members murdered LAST year in Charleston, South Carolina…Sandra Bland in Weller County, Texas is just sickening. Not to mention we still have a hard time in the workplace because of the color of our skin.
This hurts me as a Christian:
To know many of my Christian Brothers and Sisters put in office a man that has no respect for women…this is our wives, sisters, daughters and granddaughters, nieces. Knowing this man had now taught our sons and grandsons and other young males we know that it’s okay to abuse and assault women which is appalling.)  We speak out against homosexuality, abolition but gave a green light to adultery, slander, fornication, gossip, lying in regards to Trump. Sure many have said, “We’re all Sinners” but I see it only applies when it helps our “Christian” cause.  I see why many are Atheists and Agnostics.
 This hurts me as an American:
I know our country is hurting in regards to employment but you (White Americans) didn’t lose your jobs due to “immigrants” and unqualified Blacks. It was because of the greed of CEOs, stockholders found that it was better to move jobs overseas than to give you a decent salary to live and raise a family. No one hates wealthy people…we hate the fact you have funds to have houses all over the world and flaunt your way of living in our faces and the same time call us “lazy” because we’re not working harder. We’re upset that we get taxed much higher and bring home so little even though we may need to work two jobs or have two incomes and still not making it in OUR own country. To know that we have given the “go ahead” to discriminate and insult people that are not “blonde hair” and “blue eyes”. Knowing that now people of different cultures and races feel more afraid because America has elected a man that cares for no one but himself is so unsettling.
 Maybe it’s a blessing in the long run because when you’re screwed by a Republican President and Republican Congress you will have no one to blame but yourselves. But then again, as always, you will find a scapegoat…American always does.
Here’s to the years 2017 – 2020.
 

Leave a Reply

