What Music Is In My Ear This Morning w/My MiniDisc

Today I wanted to vibe with some Joni Mitchell…”Chalk Mark In A Rain Storm

I first came across this album when I worked as a stocker at Ann Taylor. The first track I heard from this LP was “Snakes and Ladders” where Joni and Don Henley shared vocals and I was hooked.

This entire album was a gem for me from the first track (teaming with Peter Gabriel).

The musicians is a “Who’s Who” and for me it’s a relaxing, tranquility album that is great way to start one’s day.

I hope you add this to your music library.

Happy Saturday.

Joni Mitchell – Chalk Mark In a Rainstorm

Side one
No. Title Music Length

  1. “My Secret Place” Joni Mitchell 5:01
  2. “Number One” Mitchell 3:46
  3. “Lakota”
    Mitchell Larry Klein
    6:25
  4. “The Tea Leaf Prophecy (Lay Down Your Arms)”
    Mitchell/Klein
    4:49
  5. “Dancin’ Clown” Mitchell 4:09

Side two
No. Title Music Length

  1. “Cool Water” Bob Nolan 5:25
  2. “The Beat of Black Wings” Mitchell 5:19
  3. “Snakes and Ladders”
    Mitchell/Klein
    5:37
  4. “The Reoccurring Dream” Mitchell 3:02
  5. “A Bird That Whistles” (arrangement of the traditional work “Corrina, Corrina”) Mitchell 2:38

Musicians
Joni Mitchell – vocals, guitar on 1, 2, 5, 6, 10; keyboards on 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9; drum programming on 2, 7, 8; collage on 9
Manu Katché – drums on 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9; percussion on 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, talking drum on 1, 7; snare drum on 2; background vocals on 5
Steve Lindsey – organ on 2
Larry Klein – bass; keyboards on 1, 3, 4, 8; 808 congas on 6; background vocals on 5
Michael Landau – guitar on 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9; background vocals on 5
Steve Stevens – lead guitar on 5
Wayne Shorter – saxophones on 10

Thomas Dolby – marimba on 5
Peter Gabriel – guest vocalist on 1
Benjamin Orr – background vocals on 2, 7
Don Henley – background vocals on 3, 8
Iron Eyes Cody – guest vocalist on 3
Wendy Melvoin – background vocals on 4
Lisa Coleman – background vocals on 4
Billy Idol – guest vocalist on 5
Tom Petty – guest vocalist on 5
Julie Last – background vocals on 5
Willie Nelson – guest vocalist on 6

Leave a comment